Home

Re-plan. I have to redo my itinerary after spending a whole day cycling in Kyoto and missed Fushimi Inari and Gion. I was supposed to leave early, get Hankyu Tourist Pass and travel to Osaka-Kobe and back to Osaka, but, I rather skip Kobe than those two places. I woke up early and had a quick visit to Nijo Castle before going to Fushimi Inari.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetErmmm.I didn’t get in into Nijo Castle actually, I was just wandering outside the castle, took some photos and ready to go

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFrom Nijo I took JR Sagano to Kyoto Station (track no.10), transit to JR Nara to Inari Station

Before I left the hostel, I realized I misplaced my GoPro’s screw (to mount it with the stick-pod), I was a bit disappointed, it will be really hard to take a photo of myself (ahhh, I hate to use the word, selfie haha). Still able to take a selfie, but not as good as with the stick-pod.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetJR Inari Station, they built it to suit the Fushimi Inari itself

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Fushimi Inari, Kyoto
Fushimi Inari is few meters away from the JR Inari Station, you will be able to notice it once you stepped out. I was carrying my backpack, and my back was in pain, so I left my bag in the locker, you will notice a hotel on your right hand side, there’s a locker in their lobby.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetA group photo with, a Japanese students before dropped my bag in the locker

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

I wandered around the street before get in to Fushimi Inari, there are souvenir shops and eatery stalls all along the street, they offered local themed dishes, Inari Sushi and Kitsune Udon (Fox Udon). Some of the souvenir is quite unique as they made it available only in Fushimi Inari, the food smells good too.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetJapanese girls, with Kimono, posed in front of Haiden, the hall for worship

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
As I was not able to mount my GoPro to the stick-pod, I put it on the stairs, and started taking photos

Fushimi Inari is one of the place where Memoirs of Geisha’s scene were recorded. I never get a chance to watch the movie, but I’ve read the book and I love it. I remembered, a photo of Chiyo (Sayuri when she was a kid before she became geisha) running pass through the thousands of vermilion Torii gates, and I told myself, I must achieve the same pose, I even carried a kimono with me, but, I never did it haha.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetUntil today I keep wondering why didn’t I just go, and took a photo, like Chiyo did

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

You can hike to the summit of the mountain, all along the Torii gates, it will take around two to three hours, and I did what everyone else’s did, hike half way then turn back. The Torii gates all along the trail are donated, it explained the writing found on each and every Torii.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI was actually standing in front of Senbon Torii, translated as Thousands of Torii Gates, the two parallel rows of gates at the main entrance

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

I was hiking up to the mountain, passing by the Senbon Torii when I met this lady from a local news. I guess, they were covering a topic that related to Japan Tourism and keen to ask questions from tourist and, I was the chosen one. She was asking some questions and wrote it down, once done, she asked if I can repeat all the answer, but now, in front of the camera. My jaw dropped. I hate being interviewed, in front of the camera, I started blabbering even though I have all the answer. But, I did it anyway, for her *sigh*

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFoxes (kitsune) are said to be a messenger to Inari, can be found everywhere in Fushimi Inari

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset A few hours later, I took another train Keihan Main Line, from Fushimi Inari Station to Gion-Shijo Station. This is a different train station from JR Inari Station. You have to walk a few minutes to get there.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFushimi Inari Station (Keihan Main Line)

Gion, Kyoto
Once I get to Gion, I still feel like, ok this is how Gion looks like, so I walked further to Hanami Koji Street and Shirakawa Area and I started to scream, this is exactly how I imagine Kyoto. I walked, with a crooked smile, that I cannot hide.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetTheater next to Gion-Shijo station

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetShijo Avenue

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetLet’s start hunting for geisha, I told myself. I didn’t put a high hope on this, as I believe, you will be considered lucky if you manage to catch a glimpse of a Geisha, and as I visited Gion at noon, the possibility almost none. But, the luck was on my side. Not sure if they are the real Geisha, or just a tourist who wanted to experience on becoming Geisha, but who cares!

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with se3 presetBack to Memoirs of Geisha, there’s a scene where Chiyo encountered her first meeting with Chairman, located on the river bank, I wonder was it, Shirakawa River? And my imagination gone wild.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI spent few hours wandering around, before buying a train ticket to Osaka. From Gion-Shijo Station, Keihan Main Line, I bought my ticket for ¥410 to Yodobashi, and change to Osaka Subway Midosuji Line from Yodobashi to Shinsaibashi. I reached Osaka at 4pm and walked around 5minutes to the B&S Eco Capsule Hostel. Another mission checked, staying in capsule hostel while in Japan.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetA cute train in Osaka

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetToo bad the check-in is at 5pm and I can’t drop my bag yet as the place is locked, so I went to Amerikamura Street, a few minutes away from the capsule hostel. The place is quite strategic, as most of the attractive places are within walking distance, Amerikamura, Den Den Town, Dotonbori and yes the Shinsaibashi Shopping area itself.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
Can you spot the Statue of Liberty?

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset
The grasshopper lamp post shaped, well, I know it doesn’t look like a grasshopper, but I see it that way, and it catches my attention, they have it in every street at Amerikamura

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetOne of the trademark in Amerikamura

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI was in a pretty bad shape towards the end of my journey. I blame the heavy backpack. I keep telling myself, I should start travelling light. Nothing exceeds my 35L backpack.

want to run in a meadow with my bare foot, and face facing the sun.

Leave a Reply

