Home

Back to Tokyo again. I went to Asakusa before visiting Fuji-san, and missed the bus, as mentioned on my previous post. why Asakusa? Asakusa Nakamise Dori, located in Asakusa is one of the tourist spots to buy souvenirs. Therefore, do not expect the souvenir to be cheap, it is still a little bit expensive. They have a different range of souvenirs, and some local delicacies. Kaminarimon (Kaminari Gate), Sensoji Temple and Asakusa Shrine are famous among tourist too, get there in the morning and you can see the local stop by for a while, and pray before they start their day.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetIn front of the Kaminari Gate

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetJust in case the Nakamise Dori is yet to open, strolling down to this alley

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetNotice the Japanese’s girl biscuit

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFridge magnet for ¥350 each and ¥1000 (around RM30) for three pieces is quite expensive but the price range is almost the same, even in Kyoto or Osaka

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI wanted to get this Fuji for myself, but I couldn’t find it anymore

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetKabuki Mask and Japanese Lantern

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetKid’s Yukata

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

The other alley along Nakamise Dori Ueno Third day in Japan, last day in Tokyo before exploring the other side of Japan. Did I go to Ueno Park? I didn’t have much time to do so, and I don’t feel like strolling in the park either. The third day itinerary is kinda pack and I must be freaking tired walking for the whole day. I purposely went to Ueno/Ameyoko to buy an extra bag that cost me ¥980. Where did I get the information? Here

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetYeah the bag store is just across the street after exiting the Ueno Station, I can’t remember which exit, but it will be better to follow Ameyoko’s sign.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetAmeya-Yokocho, also known as Candy Shop Alley, it is an open air market, mostly food.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetIf you’d love to buy Sankosen this place has the best deal (at least ¥80 cheaper compared to Kyoto’s market price)

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

You can buy Sankosen as souvenirs too Shibuya Those who’ve been to Shibuya, how many times do you have to cross the street for the best still shot or video shot of people crossing? Me? Numerous time. I went there twice, in the afternoon and at night, and it was Saturday, you can expect it to be flooded with people. Somehow I wish it was raining when I get to Shibuya because I’d love to see the umbrella scramble.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetHachiko Statue. One of the remarkable statue in Shibuya.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetOne of the best place to capture the scramble, level 2 Starbucks, I once heard rumours said they’ll stop you from taking pictures of Shibuya Crossing here, but rumour is just a rumour or did I just get lucky?

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetShibuya Crossing, when the red lights change to green

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThis wasn’t the best shot, but I love it anyway, don’t you?

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Saturday night in Shibuya Another conversation Ichie: Where Shibuya’s neon ad picture? Me: I didn’t take any (with the non-guilty tone) Ichie: Why? Me: You can always google it from the internet Ichie: But you can get the Shibuya Crossing’s picture from the internet too Me: Yeah but I want to be part of it Ichie: =.=” I got so lucky, it was Halloween festive in Tokyo, youngster put their costume on and wander around, and me, chasing every one of them for a picture.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetUrmm..Sailormoon maybe?

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetExcuse my stupid face. He is a Mexican, and work in Japan for quite a  while and I didn’t get his name.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetWhen I saw him, I have a second thought, should I or should I not, then I told myself, sometimes you cannot get a second chance, so I chased him all the way from Hachiko Statue to I-don’t-know-where-am-I-now

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetBart and Homer Simpson in Japan??

Earlier that day, I used Kuroneko Yamato courier service to send over my luggage to Narita Airport in advance, and I will pick it up there before flying back to Malaysia. I bought fabrics from Nippori Textile Town, for my personal project and bought souvenirs in advance so I don’t have to carry it with me for another 6 days. The courier service costs me ¥1952, they charged it by the weight or by measuring the size. Their service is available at any participating convenient store, I sent my luggage at the Family Mart Convenient Store, near to Shibuya Station and I’m good to go.

Omote Sando

Ah..this is one of the best street in Tokyo, no, not the one with the high-end brand. Spare some time and wander around the small street, they named it Cat Street, where you can find a vibrant Tokyo’s street fashion culture and some independent local designer’s store. I fall in love with it. But yeah, it is a bit pricey, and I want it badly, but I was on a very tight budget.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

How to get to Cat Street? I started from Hachiko Exit at Shibuya Station, go to the right of Shibuya Crossing, turn left after the Big Camera Store and walk straight till you get to the American Apparel, slight right and enjoy the Cat Street, wait, do not give up, and do not turn back (I almost did haha) you have to walk few minutes more before you get to the Tokyo’s most fashionable alley! or get your map from GoTokyo

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetHis pants his pants his pants!!

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI love local designer, I would rather have their collection rather than all those high-end brand (well, you couldn’t afford one) but yeah, I am very supportive when it comes to local designer, and you could possibly be the only person to own that collection (because their collection is limited)

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetone of my favorite shop at Cat Street, I’d love to have the jumper but too pricey

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetTheir used cloth also quite pricey

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThe end of Cat Street and you are reaching Omotesando Hills

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThe other alley along the Omotesando Hills

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI think he is getting ready for halloween, I didn’t see any Ben & Jerry’s Store nearby or I didn’t pay much attention to it.

IMG_4772-0.JPG these people were queuing for…

IMG_4771-0.JPG eggs & things! the food must be extremely delicious

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Roppongi

It was already 10pm when I get to Roppongi, after spending the whole night at Shibuya, patiently recording the people scrambling at Shibuya Crossing. You can view Tokyo from Tokyo City View Observation Deck at Mori Tower, and it will cost you ¥1500 roughly around RM45, and I told myself NO, so I just wandered around the Roppongi Hills before rushing back to the Willer Bus Station at Shinjuku for a night bus ride to Nagano.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetMori Art Museum

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetBlurry Roppongi Hills at night

Japan Tips & Tricks
Electrical outlet is not available in cafes / restaurants (including Starbucks) or by the sidewalk, even at the train station, like we always have in Malaysia. Be prepared, charge your devices to the max, bring power banks yes, I myself have two power banks, one rechargeable, the other one is the portable battery power bank. Being Malaysian (or Asian) I know how much we love our devices (smartphone, camera, iPad, etc.) and sadly, the battery run out way too fast! But, fret not, some McD has one outside their store (including the one in Shibuya), so if you run out of battery during your exploration in Japan, McD will save your day.

I think I love Tokyo. Will it be too much if I ask you to write me a poem?

Leave a Reply

