Home

Dear Fuji-san, I’d love to see you in person.

I have this monologue, when I was a kid, staring at the old calendar that my late father brought back from the coffee shop. Fuji-san is beautiful, white and beautiful. It brings me to tears, seeing it up close, but Fuji-san was quite shy that day, hiding behind those cloudy clouds.

I took the 11am bus from Shinjuku Station, it was 2-hour journey and I arrived at Kawaguchiko Station, around 1pm. I was supposed to get to the 9am bus, which will allow me plenty of time covering Kawaguchi Lake and Saiko Lake, but I miscalculate the distance from Tawaramachi to Shibuya, and transit to Shinjuku. Also, I spent some time wandering around Asakusa, which I will include in the next post. I arrived three minutes late.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetMt Fuji is right behind Kawaguchiko Station.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI bought the Retro Bus Pass for bus rides, covering Kawaguchiko and Saiko, which later that day I misplaced it, so I can’t share how it looks like. It can be used for unlimited two days ride. Please keep the pass with you and show it to the driver before you get in and getting out.

1363710319-272-oRetro Bus Guide Map. Too bad it is written in Japanese. But they will provide you the one in English, or Chinese, depends to your liking. Bus schedule is stated behind this map.

I hopped onto the bus a few minutes later. They have few pit stops, ring the bell when you are ready to get off. I choose to go to the last pit stop, Kawaguchiko Shizen Seikatsu-kan (Natural Living Centre), one of the best place to view Mt Fuji. The weather was fine, but the cloud was covering Fuji-san, I took a few shots, from a different angle, pray hard that the clouds will go away, then I gave up.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThis withered grass alike is actually withered lavender. It could be pretty awesome during Spring, or Cherry Blossom’s season.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThe Kawaguchiko Herb Festival is held in Yagizaki Park and Oishi Park every year when the parks are filled with lavish and abundant lavender beds. Source from Yamanashi Prefecture

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThe lake, the withered lavender, and where is Fuji-san? Can you spot it?

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetKawaguchiko Shizen Seikatsu-kan (Natural Living Centre)

I need to get to the Kawaguchiko Station before 4pm or else I’ll miss the bus again. So, I moved to the second pit stop to view Fuji-san, Kozantei Ubuya. Alhamdulillah, it was better than the earlier pit stop, the cloud gave me a chance to portray Fuji-san. It was a breathtaking view, I put my camera down, enjoying the view and be thankful. I never dreamt to witness this by myself.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetKozantei Ubuya

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset It’s better to see something once than to hear about it thousand times – anonymous

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI always wanted to live by the lake, staying in a small cottage, riding a bicycle and watch the sunset, when I get older.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFuji-san and I. The clearest shot that I have, with Fuji-san

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetIt was almost 4pm, huh, I have to say goodbye to Fuji-san. I missed Kachi-Kachi Ropeway and Saiko Lake, but it’s ok, it is kinda permission for me to revisit you.

DCIM100GOPRO Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI can’t open my eyes, the sun way too harsh,  and I accidentally dropped my sunglasses at Kawaguchiko Shizen Seikatsu-kan

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFuji-san is everywhere. Photo was taken at the Kawaguchiko Station

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetFujikyu Railway Line. How to  access Kawaguchiko via train? Follow this link

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

I reached Shinjuku around 7pm, it’s 3-hour journey going back to Tokyo, I fall asleep, as soon as I got into the bus. I got so tired but it was way too early to go back to the hostel, so I took the train to Meiji-Jingumae Station, exploring Harajuku. If you are using JR pass, you can straight away go to Harajuku Station, Meiji-Jingumae Station is a few minutes walking distance from Harajuku.

Harajuku
A fashion haven for the youngster, well it is more likely Bukit Bintang in Kuala Lumpur, not my cup of tea. Growing older and my fashion sense changed dramatically haha, if I was 18 I will be having a different perspective, I guess. But I did find one or two that I quite like, and a little bit expensive, no, way too expensive.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetThe only picture I took in Harajuku, using my smartphone (and I hate it) but I want to upload it anyway. I rarely took photos using my phone, because I hate the outcome, way too sharp

A short conversation once I get back to Malaysia.
Ichie: why didn’t you take any photos of Harajuku?
Me: because it’s already 7pm, and my iPad run out of battery
Ichie: T.T

Despite of my love hate towards it, I spent few hours in Harajuku before heading back to my hostel. I need to get enough rest for the next day, and mingle with new friends at the hostel.

It’s a mixed feeling. I don’t know is it love, or hate? but I definitely love Fuji-san, since I was five.

One thought on “Oh Fuji-san

Leave a Reply

