Home

I spent three days in Tokyo, with one day spare for Kawaguchiko, visiting Mt Fuji. I get myself a three day Tokyo Subway Ticket for ¥1500 before I start wandering around.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

This pass can be used widely, unlimited rides for Tokyo Metro Subway and TOEI Line. Follow this link for more info Tokyo Subway Ticket

I checked in at RetroMetro Backpackers, located near to Tawaramachi Subway Station and the adventure began! First pit stop was Shibuya, a quick glance at the Shibuya Crossing, it’s rather smaller than what I imagine (blame it to the fast and furious). Hurriedly went to Shinjuku Station and bought a bus ticket to Kawaguchiko for the next day trip, before heading to Nippori Textile Town for some serious fabric hunting.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetShinjuku Highway Bus Station is located at the West Exit of JR Shinjuku station, in front of the Yodobashi Camera Store.

Nippori Textile Town
How to get here? Nippori Textile Town is near to the JR Nippori Station. From Shibuya I went to Ueno Station and change to JR Train to Nippori for ¥140 one way.

Being a craft person, this place is a heaven to me. You can find a different range of fabric, sewing patterns, buttons and sewing related things and even a good quality of Kimono. I’ve found one that I fondly into, it was sea-foam green, golden flower on it, second-hand Kimono that will cost you ¥2500, but the minute I tried it on, it was meant for kids, the sleeve is way too short and I have to say goodbye to it, and move on.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetOgubashi Street, along the Nippori Textile Town

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetNippori Textile Town is around the corner

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetYou will be able to find this landmark at Nippori

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset Cycling is a doable in Japan

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetStreet along the way to Nippori Textile Town

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetJapanese handkerchief comes with different patterns

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetJapanese sewing patterns are way too adorable, especially kid’s blouse and pants

Akihabara
I read comics since I was young, I grew up watching anime, and Akihabara is a must even though I no longer into this manga/anime thingy. Most of the store here close at 8pm, some will close even later, it will be best to get here early, just before it’s getting dark. Panchiko is everywhere, so do the catch and win games, electrical goods, action figure (yes!), comic and anime (hell yeah!). I get into each and every shop (that selling action figure) looking for the second-hand/rejected item/last season’s figure which is way cheaper, some is not in a good shape but it did look like vintage to me. I didn’t buy any, I couldn’t find one that I like. huh.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetCatch and win game! it’s kawaii desu! I wanted to play it but scared I couldn’t win any and waste ¥200, which I can buy sandwich for my breakfast

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetI die laughing. Kirimi is weirdly funny and I couldn’t figure out what Kirimi really is

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetSega, heaven for catch & win games

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetaww.. I love K-ON they are so kawaii, especially Yui

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetNo, this wasn’t a car show

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 presetAt night, lit up with neon ads, that is why they name it Akihabara Electric Town

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

Tips & Tricks X How to Survive Tokyo’s Subway
1. Print out Tokyo Subway Map, or you can simply get it from the hostels/hostel
2. If remembering the line name is hard for you, then remember the colour
3. Missed your station? no worries, stop at the next station or reroute to the other station

I have this love hate feeling towards Tokyo.

2 thoughts on “Wandering in Tokyo

  1. Hi. I’m going to Japan next year Insyaallah in October ’16…If you could share your tips about what to prep especially I’m going on a tight budget. and please share about the weather (in October), what to wear, what should’t bring there or would be a waste if I bring and on what should I expense on ( I just go for holiday and will go to Disneyland) tq!

    Like

    • Hi there, you can read my last post about Japan, the Expenses Wrap up! I always believe, preparing the itinerary & budget is the main thing to do, especially when you plan to travel on a tight budget. Do a lot of research on how you can save money, opt for cheaper hostel, bring your own food, and opt for a tourist pass to get from one place to the other places. October in Tokyo, based on my previous experience wasn’t that cold, one or two layers will be fine, winter coats or winter shoes is not necessary, so you can save extra room for your luggage. Have fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

